Drunk driving is taken very seriously in Minnesota. If you have been arrested for DUI, the consequences are quite serious if convicted. Local police and state patrol look out for driving behavior that might be cause for a traffic stop, such as speeding, swerving, driving at low speeds, driving at high speeds, and erratic behavior. Anyone stopped by a traffic officer due to suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while impaired (DWI) must take a blood test or breathalyzer. Refusal to take the field sobriety test is cause for license suspension due to the state’s implied consent laws.

As for the DWI penalties, Minnesota Statute Chapter 169A outlines when a DUI or DWI is charged as a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or a felony. It depends upon whether the offense is a first time offense or there have been multiple DUI offenses. A first time conviction is punishable by up to a $1,000 fine and 90 days in jail. Second, 3rd, and 4th offenses are felony DUI offenses and can result in fines up to $14,000 and 7 years in prison.

A DWI or DUI will most likely result in revocation of your driver’s license. To get your license back, you will need to participate in the Minnesota Ignition Interlock Device Program. This entails equipment being installed on your automobile to test your breath for alcohol before the car can be started. In addition to this is the cost of a criminal record and increased insurance costs.

Types Of DUI

Multiple DUI

If you have a previous conviction, the consequences are serious if convicted again. Each subsequent conviction results in increased penalties, such as license suspension or the installation of an ignition interlock device. Read more about multiple DUI.

DUI Process

The DUI process in Minnesota is fast. Knowing how the process works and how to navigate the system can make a difference in your case. Read more about the DUI process.

Felony DUI

Certain DUI charges are classified as a felony, which can have a negative impact on your future if convicted. A felony is charged if there are multiple DUI convictions or when a person was killed or injured in an accident in which you are accused of driving while drunk. Read more about felony DUI.

There are a number of defense that can be used in a drunk driving case, such as demonstrating that the field sobriety tests that were performed were flawed. It can also be questioned whether or not your Constitutional rights were violated when you were first stopped. The sooner you are able to get started on your defense, the better your chances of having a successful outcome.